Lake Bernard    
Lake Bernard Lake Bernard Lake Bernard

English


Histoire du lac Bernard : Le projet


Faire la lumière sur le passé…

… pour le présent

… pour l’avenir

Frank Rowe, 1955

La présente section a pour but de rappeler l’historique fascinant du lac Bernard, en particulier l’histoire des premiers pionniers qui vécurent au bord du lac, celle du Club de pêche du Lac Bernard ainsi que celle des premiers villégiateurs et de l’Association et du Clubhouse des villégiateurs. Le site Web porte essentiellement sur les tout débuts de l’histoire connue jusque dans les années 1950.

Nous espérons qu’en partageant l’information historique dont nous disposons nous en encouragerons d’autres à contribuer à notre histoire collective. Nous voulons ainsi reconstituer l’histoire documentée de notre lac, la préserver et la transmettre aux générations futures.

Aidez-nous à reconstituer une histoire documentée du lac qui résiste à l’épreuve du temps et dont puissent profiter les générations actuelles et futures tout en l’appréciant.


Vous pouvez contribuer de multiples façons. Les documents, les histoires écrites et les photos peuvent être envoyées à history@lacbernard.ca. Si vous voulez partager votre histoire avec les abonnés de la liste de destinataires courriel (listserv@lacbernard.ca), n’hésitez pas à nous le dire et nous la récupérerons à partir de cette adresse, avec votre permission. Sachez toutefois que la liste de destinataires courriel ne permet pas d’inclure des pièces jointes.

Par ailleurs, si vous avez des souvenirs des débuts de la vie au lac, nous aimerions vous rencontrer pour vous entendre les raconter. Gaye Moffet et Jennifer Lahey enregistrent les réflexions et souvenirs de ceux qui fréquentent le lac depuis très longtemps.

Voici quelques détails sur les façons de nous aider.

5

Photos et documents

Envoyez-nous vos vieilles photos et tout document qui pourraient, à votre avis, contribuer à reconstituer l’histoire du lac. Vous pouvez envoyer des photos numériques de n’importe quel format ainsi que des copies papier. Les copies papier vous seront retournées après avoir été scannées. Les photos et documents qui répondent aux critères ci-dessous seront inclus dans la base de données historiques. Pour vous encourager à fouiller dans vos archives, nous améliorerons (correction des couleurs, recadrage, niveaux d’éclairement, etc.) vos photos et optimiserons les dimensions de fichier des photos qui ont été sélectionnées pour inclusion dans la base de données historiques.

Veuillez envoyer vos photos numériques à john.mcdonald@rogers.com ou contactez John au 819-459-2582 afin de vous renseigner sur les détails concernant la soumission de copies papier.


Histoires orales

Gaye Moffett, aidée de Jen Lahey, une habituée du lac Bernard et journaliste, aimerait interviewer les villégiateurs et d’autres personnes sur leurs réflexions et souvenirs du lac. Les interviews seront menées en français ou en anglais par des personnes qui parlent couramment l’une des deux langues ou les deux. La priorité sera donnée à ceux qui ont été au lac pendant longtemps. L’interview sera enregistrée sur un mini enregistreur numérique et durera environ 1 heure. Afin de planifier les interviews nous devons savoir qui nous devons interviewer.

Communiquez avec Gaye soit pour proposer une interview soit pour lui recommander une ou des personnes à interviewer. Vous pouvez la joindre à gaye.moffett@gemhealthcare.com ou par téléphone au : 819-459-1431.


Le Comité de l’histoire et des archives
Alison Jones
Jen Lahey
John McDonald
Gaye Moffett
Charles Topp

5

 

 



 

Did you know getting to the cottage in the early days involved a street car, then a train and finally a ride in a farmer's wagon? To learn more, read the story of Gil Doane's discovering Lake Bernard for the first time in 1919.

Leaf

Do you know the names of the early settler families around the Lake? Learn more about the McClellands, Mitchells, Woods and other pioneer families.

Leaf

Before there was electricity at the lake cottagers used to get together at the Clubhouse for dances and bingos and other social activity. Learn about the building of the clubhouse with the land, money and labour contibuted by the community.

© Droits d'auteur 2012-2014 - Tous droits réservés
Politique de confidentialité | Charte du site Web

Lake Bernard    
Lake Bernard Lake Bernard Lake Bernard

français


Lake Bernard History Project


Illuminating the Past …

…for the Present

…for the Future

Frank Rowe, 1955

The history section aims to share the rich and fascinating history of Lake Bernard, in particular about the early settlers that lived around the lake, the Lake Bernard Fishing Club, and of the early cottagers and cottagers' association and clubhouse. The website focuses on the earliest recorded history up until the 1950s.

It is hoped that sharing the historical information we have will encourage others to contribute to our collective history. We aim to build and preserve our lake history and pass it along to future generations.

Join us in building a recorded history of the lake that can endure the test of time and be enjoyed and appreciated both now and into the future.


There are various ways you can contribute.
Written stories, documents and photos can be sent to history@lacbernard.ca. If you would like to share your story with the Listserv (listserv@lacbernard.ca) please do so and we will include it from there, with your permission. Note that the listserv does not allow attachments.

Also, if you have early memories of life at the Lake we would love to meet with you to hear them. Gaye Moffet and Jennifer Lahey are recording the reflections and memories of those who have been on the lake for a considerable period of time.

Details concerning how you can help are provided below.

5

Photos and Documents

Please send us your old photos and any documents you think might contribute to the history of the lake. You can send digital copies in any format as well as hardcopy prints. The prints will be returned after they have been scanned. Photos and documents that meet the criteria below will be included in the history database. As an incentive to dig through your archive, we will photo enhance (colour correction, cropping, lighting levels, etc.) and optimize the file size of photos that have been selected for inclusion in the history database.

Please send your digital photos to john.mcdonald@rogers.com or contact John at 819-459-2582 to work out the details for submitting hardcopy prints.


Oral Histories

Gaye Moffett, supported by Jen Lahey, a fellow Lac Bernarder and a journalist, would like to interview property owners and others about their reflections and memories of the lake. Interviews will be conducted in either English or French using interviewers who are proficient in either or both languages. Priority will be given to those who have been on the lake for an extended period of time. The interview will be recorded on a digital micro recorder and last approximately 1 hour. In order to conduct the interviews we need to know who to interview.

Please get in touch with Gaye to either volunteer for an interview or to advise her of those she should be contacting. You can reach Gaye at gaye.moffett@gemhealthcare.com or by phone at: 819-459-1431


Your History and Archives Committee
Alison Jones
Jen Lahey
John McDonald
Gaye Moffett
Charles Topp

5

 

 



 

Did you know getting to the cottage in the early days involved a street car, then a train and finally a ride in a farmer's wagon? To learn more, read the story of Gil Doane's discovering Lake Bernard for the first time in 1919.

Leaf

Do you know the names of the early settler families around the Lake? Learn more about the McClellands, Mitchells, Woods and other pioneer families.

Leaf

Before there was electricity at the lake cottagers used to get together at the Clubhouse for dances and bingos and other social activity. Learn about the building of the clubhouse with the land, money and labour contibuted by the community.

©copyright 2012 - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy | Website Charter